Forbes, Furman, French and Reome top winners at Mid Season Championship!

rich forbes 7 17Richie Forbes (Super), Zane Furman (Pro), Gary French (Street Money) and Carrie Reome (Bike/Sled) topped winners Saturday, July 17, at Skyview Drags Mid Season Championship. The double point IHRA Summit Series 660 event resulted in several drivers gaining ground in the point chase, which is expected when a double point event is held. 

Forbes, who went into the event the current point leader in Super Pro, waded through a tough field in Super Pro and drove his Esperance based dragster to a win over Bob Belvick, Durhamville, in a similar entry. Although Forbes was a first round loser and earned only two points on the day, he then shut down the competition as he was in “strict winning mode” from the buyback to the final round. His $900 final run time was a perfect 4.68 on a 4.68 with a .527 reaction at 144.63 to defeat Belvick’s better light .522 but just off 5.12 on a 5.09 at 135.16. Mark Earnest, a regular at Numidia and father of Junior Dragster runner-up Gabe, made the trip from Millville, Pa., worthwhile with a solid semi-final performance in his beautiful rear-engine big-block dragster. 


zane furman 7 17 winIn Pro, Furman posted his second $800 win of the year in his Plymouth Roadrunner out of Camptown, Pa. Furman, who also fell victim in the first round and gained just two points, defeated Tony Scribani in his Camaro with a right on run of 7.05 on a 7.05 at 96.55 with a .566 reaction to defeat Scribani’s too quick 6.60 on a 6.61 at 104.11 with a .586 reaction. Scribani’s final round appearance, coupled with a first round loss for point leader Ray Thurston IV and a good all around day for New Albany, Pa.’s  Shane Garinger (three round wins) out of New Albany will make the point race in Pro all the tighter when points are released later this week. Dave Fetterman in his MOPAR from Binghamton, and Joe Carlyle, Waverly, in his C&N Auto Sales Chevy were the semi-finalists. 

Gary French, Seneca Falls, had a big day, winning both Street Money ($200) and Street Trophy with his Buick Regal. In the Street Money final, French defeated fellow New York racer Matt Peterson for the  first place money, running a 9.36 on a 9.32 at 74.51 with a .570 reaction to defeat Peterson’s too quick 8.35 on an 8.39 at 79.38 with a .587 light. Point leader Gino Mangino, Binghamton, bulbed away his change to get in the final, and settled for semi-final honors with a .495 miss. 

In Street Trophy, it would again be a French versus Peterson final, with the same results. However, this time Peterson bulbed at the start, handing the win to French. French pushed his Buick to a 9.33 on a 9.35 at 74.27 while Peterson, from Spencer, wasted an 8.39 on an 8.31 with his .483 red-light (.500 reaction perfect). 

In Bike/Sled, Carrie Reome, Blogget Mills, posted her first win of the year when she mustered up a great final round against Randy Teed, Friendsville, who had to settle for runner-up honors. Reome’s winning numbers were 8.65 on an 8.63 with a .546 light at 73.55 to defeat Teed’s second best and too quick 5.82 on a 5.85 with a .620 light at 114.81. Boyd McGraw and Brent Garcia were the semi-finalists. 

joe carlyal 7 17Brandon Searcy nabbed his second win of the year in the TCR class behind the wheel of the family Chevy Silverado, taking out five time winner Christian Taylor and his Ford Mustang. Searcy won his race on the starting line with a game .584 light, and then went 10.86 on a 10.83 at 64.76 mph to defeat Taylor’s right on 11.88 on an 11.88 nut with a slower reaction at .667. Teresa Kurtz took home the semi-final money in her Pontiac Grand Am. 

Jared Baker, out of Newfield, took home the top honors in the Precision Crankworks Junior Dragster division. Baker defeated Millville, Pa.’s Gabe Earnest in the final as he ran an 8.37 on an 8.24 with a .631 light to turn back the runner-up’s too quick 8.83 on an 8.84 with a .646 light. Randi Lee and Danny Morris were the semi-finalists.
In the second chance race, a double breakout affair found Hunter Denmark, Ovid, taking the win over first time finalist Jorja Roefs out of Unadilla. Denmark’s winning 13.698 on a 13.75 dial with a 1.304 reaction was enough to turn back Roefs’ 16.39 on a 17.5 with a much better .685 light.